August 4, 2014

  • Summer Postings….

    I have tried and tried to sit down to write an update on life here only to be stopped each and every time. Till now….

    My summer. By ME

    At the beginning of the summer my MidE came home for a month and a half. What a great time.

    When he was here 2 weeks we traveled to spend 10 days with my parents. It was a hard time. My father, who is one of the funniest people I know has not aged well. My father has had several ( at least 10) brain surgeries. When he would be in the recovery rooms the nurses would fight over who got to attend him because he would crack jokes and laugh and make their days so much better because he was a great guy. Well this great guy has become stubborn. He won’t listen to advise from others that have adapted to the whole aging thing and he is just surly and takes it out on everyone else. My mother the enabler keeps making excuses for him and helping him keep up with the stubbornness.

     

    I almost left early because of his actions which scared my younger kids. MidE is one of those kids that doesn’t really pay attention to what is going on around unless it interests him. So negative or not  he just didn’t know it was happening. But I stayed and kept the kids occupied away from my father till he could got over his limitations and accept them and then move on with life and be happy. He was a grumpy grump.

    We had time with other family at this point. I talked with a few people that my father admires and even listens to so they had an idea of what was going on and cold talk with him when they had the chance. I even told him that the kids and I were wanting to leave because he was throwing a tantrum and we didn’t like it. And we wanted him to not “Just get over it” but to learn how to work around his limitations.
    I hope that helps him.

    We got home and had a few more weeks of fun. Eating  at our favorite places, going to a few places we liked and even Nintendo Street Pass San Diego. Then too soon for me my boy left and went to time to adjust to being without my boy.

    A few weeks later, LilE went to NTS Camp for  a week. It was a blessing to have him gone. He has been so preteen hormonal. It has been quite irritating. So a week of him gone has been quiet and nice.

    I was able to spend a week with just WahE and when he wasn’t working BigE. So we had a blast. We watched videos that we have wanted to watch together. We played games we ran about and had fun. It was a great week.

    Now he is home. He has been up till today. Prior to today he has been loving caring glad to be home. If he was asked to do something he did it willingly. He played nicely with each of the other kids and has been such a joy. He realized while away  how we respect each other and those kids at camp didn’t treat anyone with respect so he is happy to be home.

    As for me, I am struggling to try and get a car so I can get out of the house more than when E will let me have the car. I have made some friendships with some of my neighbors and that is nice but everything I do is in my house or around my house and I am not used to or like to be bound to the house with no way out.

    I have also been saving to find a house that I can move to with the kids to get them into a good school. We know a good area at it is near most of the things I need and use, grocery stores, target, play areas, and many other things I frequent.

    I have been learning in spite of our circumstances to be contented in all things. This has made E  question why I want to move since I am so happy here. (At this comment I rolled my eyes at him and said something along the lines of Seriously?! wow how could you not know I don’t like it here!?!?! I thought for the last 6 years I had made it clear I didn’t want to live in this area or in this house.

    The good news is  I finally got a replacement washer. So instead of washing my laundry (as much as possible) in the tub by hand or at the laundry mat (way too expensive) I was gifted a washer. It is a full sized washer so I can now wash and dry laundry in my house. Such a blessing.

    I am now leading a women’s group and have been asked to plan a new study for women going through similar things that I am so we can come out the other side less damaged from those things that are there to cause harm emotionally.

    I AM good. I am happy with my kids and I am filled with contentment with my situation. I will learn as much as I can and move on to the next chapter in my life with as much grace as I can so I can pass on a legacy of overcoming and not being a product of life’s crap. Live above our situations with as much love and life as possible. That is my goal right now.

Comments (3)

  • That is a really good goal. I hope you can get a car, and move to the area you want. Meanwhile, you are learning to be contenct, and that’s good. Hugs.

  • It is a pleasure to read a post with such positive tune and with so interesting perspectives .
    I am glad for you,Karen
    Love
    Michel

  • I liked very much, Karen, your genuine comment about the riders in Jura mountains.
    Beautiful one
    Love
    Michel

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *