September 22, 2014

  • Coffee and other things that are related…

    I purchase Trader Joe’s  cold-brewed coffee. It is one of my weaknesses. I love iced or blended coffee (depending on my mood) To make it easier to make a blended coffee, I mix the coffee with the right amount of sugar and hazelnut flavor so all I have to do is pour  a bit in the blender with or over ice and add milk or water. I have been using a Nestles chocolate milk bottle to keep it in. One bottle makes about 8 cups of coffee. I also, for the sake of being able to say that I had tried it bought the girl scout cookie milk it is made by Nestles. It comes in the same bottle as mentioned above.

    On Thursday, I purchased both the coffee and a bottle of each milk flavor to try with the kids. I got home, opened a bottle and shared with BigE, WahE and LilE asked if he could have some later. I said he could when he ate  a good meal.  I also mixed up the coffee, one line in the bottle is about a full cup of coffee when diluted to normal strength, and used a cup worth.

    Lile forgot to have his flavored milk on Thursday so for lunch he asked if he could have his share. I told him he could.

    He loves to sip his flavored drinks to make it last longer. So  sip away he did.

    That night he went to bed and no matter what he did he couldn’t sleep. I was frustrated to no end because if he doesn’t sleep this means I don’t get much sleep either. To make sure that this didn’t happen again Saturday night I woke him up early on Saturday.

    As the day wore on I could tell he wouldn’t last the day without trying to nap. So I dragged him out shopping with me. We were gone for about 3 hours, I did make it fun and we had a meal out together at his favorite burger place. We got home at almost 5pm.  As he was walking by the daily calendar he realized what day it was and that he was at 5:30 supposed to go to a friend’s birthday party. Back in the car we jumped and got him there in time. As I was dropping him off I asked the parent when to pick him up. I was told midnight. She was serious on midnight being the cut off time as she had to work the next evening and was busy the whole morning as well.

    I asked if it could be earlier and she told me they were planning on a movie and it would get out after 10 so any time after they got back.

    FFW to 11.

    I went to pick LilE up.

    When I arrived the mother invited me in and asked if LilE could stay till all the gifts were open. So we went off to chat while the kids did what kids do.

    When they were all open LilE asked if I would stay till the other boys’ parents showed up, Birthday Girl’s Mom (BGM), encouraged me to as well. So I agreed.

    We chatted, kids played (I guess I should say TEENS not kids and they didn’t PLAY. I am being told TEENS don’t PLAY they HANG) Teens hung out. The first boy’s mom showed up. It was 1. Now remember the mother was wanting and not just wanting but firm on the time for pick up being 12. As the girls were getting ready for their sleep over, LilE and the boy remaining are good friends, she asked if I could stay till the other mom showed up so the boys could entertain themselves leaving the girls to settle down.
    Figuring that it would just be a few minutes later, I  agreed.

    1:30ish Mom#2 arrived.

    She came in, settled down and chatted. And chatted. And chatted. BGM  walked to the front door being that mom # 2 was there I went to leave, AND COULDN’T, mom #2 had fully blocked my car. So I commented about this, hoping it would hurry the conversation up, by this time it was 2:15. Mom #2 went to check her cell phone for some info she was wanting to get to both of us only to find she couldn’t find her cell phone. UGH. :-)

    Back into the house she went. Retracing her steps. She still couldn’t find her cell phone. BGM handed her house phone so she cold call the cell only to find that the #3 didn’t dial and Mom #2′s number has 3 in it. :-D

    Down to my car I went, grabbed my phone, thinking she probably left her phone in the car I had LiE and Boy stand by her car, and had her call it. The boys ran up and reported that in fact she HAD left the phone in the car. So back to the cars we walked.

    2 steps chatter chatter chatter. 4 steps. Pause turn chatter chatter. 2 steps chatter chatter……etc.

    At 2:40 am. I started my car, waited 5 minutes and she finally drove off. BGM. Walked back to my car, thanked me for being there the whole time, the only reason Mom #2 left before 4 was because I was there to “RUSH” her out.

    I arrived home and thought I would have a small cup of coffee only to find, LilE on Friday had drank the whole bottle of my coffee minus  the 1 cup and had left the milk.

    He did get some sleep but I had him up by 9:30 am.

     

Comments (4)

  • OMG, this was a day well filled for LilE and you Karen . I am sure the sleep was good in what remained of the night! :)
    A question: Does not coffee block the sleep?
    Love
    Michel

  • Oh my goodness! What an ordeal. Glad you Finally got home.

  • I got tired just reading the post, I can only imagine how you felt living the night through! I think I would have been upset with that #2mom. She should have had more sense than what she displayed.
    I cannot drink anything caffeinated after noon. During deathly winter days, I do have two or three sips to warm my bones though.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *